Taraba inaugurates transition, stock-taking committees

Not IinaugurationPic

Jalingo-Governor Darius Ishaku of Taraba State has inaugurated Transition and Stock-Taking Committees for the purpose of proper implementation and smooth transition from his first tenure to the second.

Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, bigwigs in the state, including the Speaker of the state House of Assembly, Peter Diah, and National Vice Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, North East, Gebon Kataps, are members of the committee. The 46-man committee has Amb. Idris Waziri as Chairman  while the state Commissioner for Works, Irimiya Hammanjulde is Chairman of the stock taking committee.

The two committees, whose work began on Wednesday after inauguration, is to ensure that the transition process is hitch-free.

Meanwhile, the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has issued the Certificate of Return to Ishaku. Ishaku, who was the flag bearer of the PDP  defeated a former acting governor of the state, Sani Danladi, and immediate past Minister of Women Affairs and Social Development, Aisha Alhassan, after polling 520,433 votes to secure re-election.

The 24 elected members of the state House of Assembly were also issued Certificates of Return, among whom is the Deputy Chairman, Conference of Speakers in Nigeria and Speaker of the Taraba House of Assembly, Peter Diah, who was re-elected for the fifth time.